Designing a Tech Career Roadmap

Designing a Tech Career Roadmap

This article will highlight point from " Designing a tech Career roadmap" by Yewande Odumosu and how I will be applying this point in my Tech journey.

Highlights

  • In tech Career we have the developers and non-developers roles.
  • Before choosing a tech Career path you need to evaluate where you are by answering simple questions like, what do I love the most and the least?, what do people say am good at? What motivates me? And other similar questions to better understand yourself.
  • Secondly, you need to know and understand your strength and skills i.e both soft skills and hard sklls. You need to know the skills that easily come to you ,the ones you picked up over time and the ones you want to lmprove on or learn.
  • A Tech Career roadmap is about you, the opportunities you get and how prepared you are. The roadmap could be linear or non-linear. -A linear roadmap involves focusing on one interest and developing yourself in that line till you reach the highest level while non- linear roadmap involves exploring your interest and building yourself from one tech Career path to another.
  • In transitioning into tech you need to identify your transferable skill, volunteer, join community and explore your interest. Source: forms.gle/2SaDHjWW9nd8NmVD8

How I am going to apply this point

In evaluating myself I would say I am a curious person, I love maths, I enjoy solving problems. For skills and strength, I have basic knowledge of the Microsoft tool, though I enjoyed Excel and Access more. I am Developing my self in that area by starting my tech Career as Data Analysis student in the Adaproject. Being a curious person I see my tech Career roadmap as a non- linear roadmap and I would love to explore my interest in Project and Quality management later. I joined the LinkedIn and Twitter community and I am up for volunteering and mentorship.